Sweet Suite

Woodwind Quintet
Completed: 2/1/16; Premiered: 4/26/16
Unpublished – Contact the composer

Five movements for woodwind quintet. This piece explores jazz harmonies in the context of a traditional woodwind quintet. The five movements are titled:

  1. Sweetie Pie
  2. Sweet Tooth
  3. Sweet Dreams
  4. Sweet Enough
  5. Sweeten the Pot

Note: This piece is an edited subset of the Wedding Suite composed for woodwind quintet in 2014. In the original, the horn part was written for trombone and included improvisation. This piece is rewritten to use horn, and improvisation has been removed. The original also included ceremonial music that is not part of this work.